Folgers Breakfast
By Folgers · Coffee Makers · Kitchen & Cooking
- Roast: Light/Mild
- Available Sizes: 9.6 oz, 19.2 oz, 22.6 oz, 33.7 oz canisters
- Form: Ground coffee
- Recyclable canister
Lowest price seen
~$12.99 (approx.)
from $12.99 at Amazon
- Amazon ~$12.99 (approx.)View at Amazon
- FolgersView at Folgers
- NeweggView at Newegg
- eBay (used) eBay: used, open-box, refurbishedView at eBay (used)
- eBayView at eBay
Prices are snapshots. Check the current price with the store.
Summary
Folgers Breakfast Blend is a mild, light-roast pre-ground coffee for households that want an inexpensive everyday drip coffee. Check the unit price per ounce before you buy: a 22.6-oz canister was listed at $14.96–$17.29 across Walmart, Target and Kroger in October 2026, and Folgers rates opened grounds at their best for only 1–3 weeks.
Strengths
- Mild, easy-drinking cup: the independent tasting found light woody, toasty, cereal-like flavors with a smooth mouthfeel.
- Filter-brew friendly: in that tasting, a paper-filter pour-over came out cleaner and lighter than French press.
- Four canister sizes from 9.6 to 33.7 oz let you match the pack to how fast the household drinks coffee.
- Simple routine recipe: one level tablespoon per 6 fl oz of water for drip, strength adjusted to preference.
- Plain brewed coffee has no added sugar or flavoring, and the 22.6-oz label lists coffee as the sole ingredient.
Weaknesses
- Opened grounds go stale fast: Folgers rates them at their best for only 1–3 weeks, so a big tub can outlast its freshness in a slow household.
- Folgers’ own storage advice conflicts: the FAQ says refrigerate sealed grounds, the dedicated storage guide says do not.
- Provenance is undisclosed: bean species and origin proportions are not published, so a fixed single-origin or 100% Arabica lot cannot be assumed.
- The pre-ground texture is not an espresso grind: the independent reviewer had to regrind it before pulling a small espresso-style shot.
- Delivery damage shows up: Target reviewers describe crushed and burst canisters, though that review pool covers several Folgers roasts.
Verified specifications
| Roast | light roast, mild; Folgers’ FAQ says it is similar to the older Morning Café blend, not strictly identical. |
|---|---|
| Taste | one independent taster described soft, woody, toast and cereal-like flavors rather than dark-roast intensity. |
| Caffeine | retailer labels say caffeinated; the manufacturer publishes no milligram dose for this blend. |
| Sizes | 9.6 oz, 19.2 oz, 22.6 oz and 33.7 oz plastic canisters. |
| 22.6-oz identity | UPC 025500304403 (Kroger lists the same UPC as 0002550030440); net weight 22.6 oz, about 641 g of grounds. |
| Ingredients | the Kroger label lists coffee as the sole ingredient; bean species and origin proportions are not disclosed. |
| Roasting | Walmart and Target descriptions say the coffee is roasted in New Orleans; Folgers says its green beans come from suppliers in more than 20 countries. |
| Grind | pre-ground for drip and filter methods; Folgers recommends 1 level tablespoon per 6 US fluid ounces of water for drip and 1½ tablespoons per 6 fl oz steeped 12–24 hours for cold brew. |
| Freshness | best-by label on the canister; opened grounds at their best for roughly 1–3 weeks. |
| Package | plastic lidded canister; Folgers says it may be recyclable but warns it is not recycled in many communities. |
Full research notes and sources
Taste and brewing
Folgers labels Breakfast Blend light roast and mild, and its FAQ says the blend is similar to the older Morning Café, not strictly identical. One independent taster — Clearly Coffee, in a September 2023 review updated May 2024 — brewed the actual ground coffee three ways. A paper-filter pour-over, 20 g of grounds in 360 mL of water, tasted cleaner and lighter than French press, with slightly sweeter cereal notes; the French press kept more oils and fine particles. The taster described light woody, toasty, cereal-like flavors and a smooth mouthfeel, found a little milk complementary, and warned that several creamer portions overwhelmed the mild base. For espresso-style extraction the reviewer had to regrind the grounds first, so this is not an espresso-ready grind.
Folgers’ recipe for ordinary drip is 1 level tablespoon per 6 US fluid ounces of water, strength to preference; its cold-brew guide uses 1½ tablespoons per 6 fl oz steeped 12–24 hours. These are volume recipes, not weighed doses, and one taster’s preference is not a blinded panel.
Freshness and storage
Folgers says opened ground coffee is typically at its best for only 1–3 weeks and should be protected from oxygen, moisture, heat and light. A dull or bitter cup, reduced aroma or a musty smell can signal lost freshness, and grounds that smell or taste wrong should be discarded. No spoilage rate by batch has been published.
The brand’s storage advice disagrees with itself. The broad FAQ says to refrigerate tightly sealed ground coffee, while the dedicated storage guide explicitly says not to refrigerate — moisture and fridge odors — and recommends an airtight container in a cool, dark, dry cupboard. Follow the dedicated guide.
Everything here is pre-ground, and listings emphasize a best-by date rather than a promised roast date, so you get less control over peak aroma than with beans ground at home. The canister has a lid; Folgers says it may be recyclable but warns it is not recycled in many communities, so check local rules before curbside recycling.
Sizes, prices and running costs
Folgers lists four ground-coffee canisters: 9.6 oz, 19.2 oz, 22.6 oz and 33.7 oz. This page covers the 22.6-oz canister, UPC 025500304403, about 641 g of grounds.
In October 2026, Walmart listed the 22.6-oz canister at $14.96 ($0.662/oz), Target at $16.69 ($0.739/oz) and Kroger at $17.29 ($0.765/oz) for in-store pickup; the observed band was $14.96–$17.29, about $0.66–$0.77 an ounce. The 33.7-oz canister was $19.96 at Walmart in the same check ($0.592/oz), cheaper per ounce, but it only pays off if the household finishes it before the grounds stale.
For coffee, the running cost is what the household drinks, not machine upkeep. At Walmart’s $14.96-per-22.6-oz rate and an assumed 12 g of grounds a day, the research computed about 4,380 g a year — roughly 6.84 canisters, or $102.25 a year of grounds (buying whole canisters, seven tubs at $104.72). At Target’s $16.69 the same habit runs about $114.09 a year. Two 6-fl-oz cups a day, 24 g of grounds, comes to about $204.50 a year at the Walmart rate. None of these include water, heating, brewer wear, filters, milk, sweeteners or tax, and discarded stale coffee adds an unquantifiable cost on top.
Is it worth it?
The research’s editorial thresholds for the 22.6-oz canister: $13.50 or less ($0.60/oz) is a good sale, $13.50–$16.70 is reasonable if this is your preferred mild coffee, and above $18 ($0.80/oz) it is worth shopping the alternatives. In the same October 2026 check, Target listed Good & Gather Breakfast Blend (12 oz) at $8.99 ($0.749/oz) and Walmart listed McCafé Breakfast Blend (12 oz) at $9.97 ($0.831/oz); the taster behind the independent review preferred Folgers over McCafé for body and toasted-woody depth. If what you actually want is a strong dark roast, Folgers Black Silk (22.6 oz) was $14.96 at Walmart, the same as Breakfast Blend there. A larger canister is not automatically the better buy — the biggest tub is the wrong choice for a one-cup-a-day household.
Ordering delivery carries a packaging risk. On Target’s product page, reviewers describe a crushed can in a ten-can shipment, a canister that arrived open with grounds loose in the box, and two containers that burst in transit. That review pool covers several Folgers roasts, so treat it as a shipping risk rather than a Breakfast-Blend defect rate; one reviewer described two unsuccessful damage-report attempts followed by unhelpful support and a store-return offer. Inspect the seal and the canister on arrival.
There is no equipment warranty on coffee. The label carries a best-by date, and Folgers says it cannot guarantee taste or quality after that date. Its contact form asks for the UPC, best-if-used-by date and production code, so keep a photo of those plus the receipt when reporting a bad lot.
Which product this is
This page covers Folgers Breakfast Blend ground coffee, the caffeinated, mild, light-roast canister — not the Breakfast Blend K-Cup pods and not other Folgers roasts. The 22.6-oz canister is UPC 025500304403; Kroger lists the same UPC as 0002550030440 and Target’s item number is 13376861. The manufacturer also sells 9.6-oz, 19.2-oz and 33.7-oz canisters of this blend. Walmart and Target descriptions say the coffee is roasted in New Orleans; Folgers says its green beans come from suppliers in more than 20 countries, and it does not disclose the blend’s bean species or origin proportions.
Sources
Manufacturer:
- Folgers Breakfast Blend ground coffee product page and FAQs
- Folgers — How to Measure Coffee
- Folgers — How to Store Ground Coffee
- Folgers — Frequently Asked Questions
- Folgers — How to Make Coffee with a Drip Coffee Maker
- Folgers — Contact Us
Independent reviews:
Owner reports:
Stores and alternatives: