PetSafe Oasys 2 Gallon Pet Fountain (formerly Drinkwell), 256 oz

By PetSafe · Pet Fountains · Home & Workspace

  • 2 gallon (256 oz) water capacity
  • Free-falling adjustable water stream
  • Dual filtration system
  • BPA-free, dishwasher-safe bowl
  • Designed for large dogs and multi-pet homes

Price not listed

Prices are snapshots. Check the current price with the store.

Summary

The PetSafe Oasys 2 Gallon Pet Fountain is a 256 oz plug-in fountain for large dogs and multi-pet homes, with an adjustable stream, dual carbon-and-foam filtration and a dishwasher-safe bowl. Check the model code before you buy: PetSafe lists PWW00-16790 as the 64 oz size and ZWW00-16558 as the 256 oz size.

Strengths

  • Holds 256 oz, enough for large dogs and multi-pet homes to go longer between refills.
  • The open bowl keeps water reachable if the power goes out.
  • The free-falling stream is adjustable with a knob.
  • The wide bowl is shaped to keep cat whiskers clear of the sides.
  • The bowl is top-rack dishwasher safe, which makes cleaning quick.
  • Carbon filters, foam filters and the pump are all sold through PetSafe’s Drinkwell parts channel.

Weaknesses

  • No independent instrumented test of this exact model was found; the specifications are the manufacturer’s claims.
  • Pump flow rate (GPH or LPH) is not published, so you cannot compare circulation against other fountains.
  • Noise level is not specified.
  • The filter replacement interval is not stated, so you have to judge it yourself.
  • Weight and any warranty beyond the 45-day return window are not published.
  • Only the bowl is dishwasher safe; the pump has to be hand-washed.

Verified specifications

Capacity256 oz (2 gallons) for the large variant.
Dimensions14.6 × 10.1 in (2 gallon variant).
Powerplug-in, with a submersible pump and wall adaptor.
Water streamone adjustable, free-falling stream.
Filtrationdual stage, a carbon filter plus a foam filter.
MaterialBPA-free plastic.
Cleaningthe bowl is top-rack dishwasher safe; handwash the pump separately.
Designopen bowl with a wide rim for whiskers.
In the boxfountain, carbon filter, foam filter, fountain pump, wall adaptor and quick-start guide.
Replacement partsDrinkwell carbon filters, foam filters and pump.
Return window45 days.
Full research notes and sources

What it is and which size to buy

The Oasys is a plug-in fountain with a single free-falling stream you adjust with a knob. The bowl is wide and open, which keeps whiskers clear of the sides and leaves water available during a power outage. It ships with a carbon filter, a foam filter, a submersible pump and a wall adaptor.

PetSafe’s site lists three capacities: 64 oz (PWW00-16790), 128 oz (PWW00-16777) and 256 oz (ZWW00-16558). The identity behind this page gave PWW00-16790 as the 2 gallon model, but PetSafe’s own page shows that code as the 64 oz size and ZWW00-16558 as the 256 oz (2 gallon) size. Match the code to the capacity you want before ordering.

Filters, cleaning and running costs

The fountain runs water through a carbon filter for taste and odors and a foam filter for pet hair and debris. PetSafe does not publish a replacement interval or a filter price, so the running cost depends on how often you change them. The bowl is top-rack dishwasher safe; the pump must be hand-washed separately. Replacement carbon filters, foam filters and the pump are sold through PetSafe’s Drinkwell parts channel, which helps long-term ownership. PetSafe lists the 256 oz fountain at $44.99 with a 45-day return window, and the same $44.99 appears on all three sizes, which looks like a listing error worth confirming at checkout.

Is it worth it?

At $44.99 the Oasys is priced for its capacity, and the Drinkwell parts channel means filters and a pump should stay available. The catch is the evidence: no independent lab has tested this exact model, and PetSafe does not publish flow rate, noise or filter life, so you are buying on the brand’s word. If you want a large open bowl and easy cleaning, it is a sensible pick; if you need to compare circulation or noise against another fountain, those numbers are not here yet.

Sources

Manufacturer:

Independent reviews:

  • No independent instrumented test of this exact model was found.

Owner reports:

  • No owner threads for this exact model were found.

Buying guides for this category

Related products